The rare and the beautiful

Another wonderful day today, but I gave the regular walk a skip, as you might say, mostly to give the dodgy hip a rest. A great day for fiddling about in the garden, potting up, weeding pots and rewriting labels. And talking to neighbours!

This little fern seems to be very rare in cultivation. I can't remember where I got it from now that I can't look up my Arduaine accessions database. From an enthusiast, no doubt, as I don't believe that it's in the trade. 

Polystichum prescottianum is a small, deciduous fern, whose natural range is from Afghanistan to Central China. I don't know why it's not grown more as it seems hardy and easy. I split my plant into two a few years ago, but swapped one piece for another rare fern with a nurseryman at Gardening Scotland. I must split it again and try to build up a good lot of it. My extra is just a joke!

Quote of the Day:

Vera Nazarian, 'The Perpetual Calendar of Inspiration' -  “The cactus thrives in the desert while the fern thrives in the wetland. The fool will try to plant them in the same flowerbox.” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.