Olives

I have a small olive tree in a pot. One day I was looking at the fruit and blipped them as they are quite photogenic. Then I thought I should pick them and have a go at preparing them for eating. I’ve never been a fan of olives so hadn’t really thought about it before. 

So did my bit of research via YouTube University and after much advice I worked out you first bruise them, then give them water treatment of various amounts and times then soak them in something else of your choice ( great instructions if you wanted some clear methodology). So my method was change the water daily for ten days then salty water (1:10) and change it weekly for about five weeks. Bob was chief sampler and on Saturday said they were ready. After everyone had had a taste we ended up with this wonderful supply which should keep us in olives for a week or so if I ration them out. I added olive oil and a home grown garlic clove and home grown bay leaf. I even ate one. Olive - not bay leaf. 

This morning Bob allowed me to cut his hair. I don’t mind doing it but have had little experience. He is happy with the result and paid me $10 ( that’s my annual income). 

James returned home in terrible long weekend traffic. I also did jobs such as washing and leaf raking. I also did some reading up on my camera manual, good to have a refresher. If you don’t use things you forget they are there.

PS the olives were great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.