Existence

It’s all very laudable to spend most of the day cooking stews and baking plantain loaves, but the fall out is the mess left behind, the number of utensils that have to be washed and the surfaces that have to be cleaned of peelings and flour. It’s all done now, the stew is waiting to go into the freezer and the Plantain loaf has not got a soggy bottom, but best of all there is another day of lockdown under my belt.

I discovered that the local Tesco Metro opens at 6am, allowing me to shop without meeting more than 3 early birds. They are also better stocked than the small Sainsbury’s local at the end of the road.

To compound the issues of my wrist watch being backless until such time as I can get someone to fix it, my I-watch went crazy this morning and stopped responding to me. I finally managed to force the power off and after an hour or two on the naughty step, it apologised and started being obedient.

As for the lawyer’s 13 pages of figures finding their way to me at 5pm on Friday when he cleared his desk, I finally made some sort of sense of them and phoned to tell him so. Finally, 18 months later His Lordship’s estate has been wound up and his daughter and I can move on.

And so do the days pass in the minutiae of existence. No new Covid deaths in Scotland for the second day running. Fingers crossed there is no spike to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.