A Day to Remember

I bet this beautiful bride and her bridesmaids were hoping for a lovely June summer’s day on which to celebrate her wedding. They were possibly even expecting sunshine and warmth, but what they actually got were louring grey skies, heavy downpours and temperatures barely into double figures.

I came upon their wedding photo shoot as I plodded uphill from an eye test appointment in Princes Street amidst a biblical throng of sodden tourists. I might have taken the bus to avoid the case dragging stravaigers, but for some reason the buses up the Mound were re routed and non existent. By the time I got home I was soaked to the skin despite the raincoat, which acted like a gutter channelling water onto my trousers and shoes.

With everything drying off in the airing cupboard, I have set to and made two gingerbreads and licked clean the mixing bowl in the process so that now I don’t need any supper............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.