Iris and friend

This morning I walked down to the post office and dropped in at Birchfield gardens on the way back. Whilst they have a few iris in the pond, there weren’t many other things about to see apart from a few ducks and coots. I liked this yellow iris, still wet from the earlier rain with its own little visitor too. I have no clue what the insect is, so if anyone knows, I’ll be happy to amend my post later. 
We spent the remainder of the day in the garden, with my husband doing his general digging up of things and me planting things afterwards. Today I repotted a lot of seedlings that had miraculously come up from 15 year old seeds! I’m not convinced they will amount to much, but at least I’m trying. 
I also sowed some cosmos that came free with a gardening magazine. I suspect it’s a bit late, but you never know. Maybe it will give us some late summer colour? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.