Of Music

At any time, I couldn’t live without music.

One of the things I am really missing at present is live music. We had tickets to two concerts which we have missed, one before the lockdown when - after a lot of discussion about the risks - we decided not to go. And the second was during the early part of the lockdown when the concert was cancelled anyway. I was really looking forward to both of them.

I really feel for all those musicians and venues who are so dependent on the income from live concerts. The real worry is that the thriving cultural scene pre April 2020 will be devastated , and will never really recover.

This blip features my latest online music purchases (I haven’t really got into streaming, I like the physical product). Top of the pile is “my Finnish calendar”, jazz pianist Iiro Rantala’s latest. It’s excellent. The sleeve notes, describing each month in Finland, reflect his very dry humour.

June is called Kesäkuu in Finnish. Kesä being summer. And Kuu is a month. Maybe summers are not too long there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.