Truth

In some ways it was a difficult day. Events, etc…

I got my third email from an airline to tell me one of my flights for this month’s holiday is cancelled. In some ways it is silly because I have known for a while I would not be going. The 3rd week in May was my deadline for applying for a visa. However, it does just force the message home. I cannot ignore them either, because I have to choose between a refund, a voucher or re-booking. 

I felt very old this evening as well. I saw an Instagram post announcing Castres Olympique’s coaching team for next season (Castres is one of the top rugby teams in France). The forwards coach’s father was a teammate of mine in Toulouse. He (the coach) is 46. It seems just yesterday I would see players whose father I knew. Now they are middle aged coaches. 

On a positive note, I drove 20 minutes to deliver strawberries to Junior. I felt weird. Outside someone else’s house, 20 minutes away in the car. 

He is going to do some exterior painting at my house which will give him something to do, help me out, give him some extra pocket money, and we will see each other a bit more.   

Work was positive too. I had the morning at home and the afternoon in the Office. 7 deaths announced today after two death-free days, but Tuesdays are usually “busy” as deaths which took place over the weekend are often registered on Monday morning when the admin people go back to work. The next 7 days are crucial in judging how things are going. People dying now most likely got infected before the restrictions were reduced.  

The First Minister took the opposition leader to pieces yesterday in relation to the government's response to the virus , and he thoroughly deserved it. Today the Health Secretary did it to her opposition counterpart. Only social distancing stopped her crossing the Chamber and taking him by the neck. You will not see it on the BBC. Someone suggested Miles peed himself, but I am sure that is just mischief making. 

In the Office we see in advance almost all the questions which will be asked in the Chamber, and sometimes you just ask yourself what kind of imbecile is dreaming them up. Occasionally the imbecile is me of course, and the Boss gets to stand up and ask himself why he employed me.  

Blip time. Another book. Yes, boring. Brits will know why I bought it. The author is a presenter on the BBC’s flagship midweek current affairs programme. She got in trouble for telling the truth recently (on air), and the BBC had to apologise publicly. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.