Penderyn

Wednesday. 

I was working in the Office all day, exchanging one form of solitary confinement for another. 

Parliament HR has set up an informal support group for those affected by the new work-from-home regime and want to talk to someone. I have volunteered. My online profile will have to disclose what my favourite biscuits are. I suppose I can live with this minor incursion into my private data. 

One fixture of this new way of working has been daily blog posts emailed out to us by Stewart Stevenson MSP. He has been shielding - self imposed isolation - for 3 months now. I am sharing his blog post for today because it gives an insight into how our representatives now work if for some reason (health or distance) they are not able or willing to come to Edinburgh for 2 or 3 days in the week. 

8th Decade

His writing lightens up the inbox first thing in the morning. He is 73 and will not be standing in next year’s election. He occupies - or used to - an office almost next to the Boss in the Parliament building, so he is a familiar figure. He was Transport Minister for a while about 10 years ago. He resigned after it snowed, some drivers went out in it and got stuck. His responsibility and not theirs, apparently.    

The weather has been cool and wet all day, so I did not go out looking for a Blip in the evening. Instead it is more of my lockdown online shopping. Hand sanitiser from a Welsh whisky distillery. 

Whatever next? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.