Loughs

I had another day with too much time spent in the car, but since my heel is still causing problems I could not have walked much anyway. 

My wanderings took me southeast from Belfast to the end of Strangford Lough, across the Lough from Portaferry to Strangford by ferry, then south along the coast past the Mournes as far as Carlingford Lough. Another wee ferry crosses Carlingford Lough to the EU. 

I could not take the second ferry. The Covid 19 regulations in Ireland make it impracticable for a 30 minute passing visit, as does the surcharge the car rental company makes for such exotic travels. 

I have been to Belfast several times, I have been to the Antrim coast and I have been to Derry. Today was about checking out a different part of Ulster. Yes, I would come back and stay in that area for a few days given the opportunity.   

The Blip is the ferry heading back to Portaferry (in the background) after dropping me off in Strangford. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.