Day 81 A Changeable Sky

This week's AT theme, set by our host Ingeborg, is Changes, especially apt in theses strange times.  The sky today was changeable as the extraordinary period of sunshine and warmth has now left us in SE England.  For my abstract, I took a few photos of the sky which ranged from clouds with sunshine, to downright stormy.  I layered two contrasting images in Picasa, enhanced the original colour a little and gave the result a little pinch in PS Elements.
My extra is of the bread thief, or if not the actual bread thief, then another family member.  In the excitement of recounting my driving adventures yesterday, I forgot about the day's start at around 4am.  Having had a number of loaves, delivered by our milkman, disappear over the past month or so, I had been convinced that the thief must be human as there was no sign of investigation, torn bits of paper or plastic etc.  This week, I asked for the loaf to be placed in an umbrella holder in our porch, which the milkman duly did...at about 4am I heard a loud clank (the umbrella holder has a metal frame) and then another one.  I shot downstairs, pulled open the front door, to find the umbrella stand toppled over with the loaf wedged in it and  ...a fox standing at the end of our drive!  I have to say hats off to this wily creature who had so skilfully stolen the other loaves.  He, or she, must have carried the loaves back to the den, complete with packaging: that is  something I would love to have seen. 
This evening's visitor to the back garden is I think a vixen.  She had spotted a peanut feeder which a squirrel had pulled down from its post and after a period of face offs with us, ran off into the flower beds and out the garden with bird feeder in mouth! Picture taken through glass about 50 ft away, so not the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.