Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Eating lunch

Lats night the dinner via Zoom went quite well - the food we made was delicious, and we all sat down looking rather smart from the top up! The dinner was well organised, somehow when we logged in we were sent to 'another room' for drinks, and then after drinks sent back to the dining hall for dinner. At one point we were in a small group of only about 5 people on the screen for more intimate chatter, I suppose like chatting to the people on your table. Some people had stuck to the menu plan and showed their dishes on the screen. The salad accompanying the salmon of green beans, borlotti beans, baby tomatoes and black olives was delicious, not a combination I would have thought of but I will definitely make it again. Unfortunately I got a bit of a tummy ache so I left the table before the speeches started (well that is my excuse and I am sticking to it - no, genuinely, I did have a tummy ache) and spent the rest of the evening lying on the sofa with Xena watching TV.  Gavin said the speeches were very good and Adam said it was all 'too white' and should they not at least have mentioned Black Lives Matter? 

This morning I went grocery shopping again, and I really am the lucky Queen of Short Queues as I just walked directly in to the supermarket, but when I came out again there was a long queue outside - I did time it well!

Gavin took the afternoon off work and went to play golf with a colleague, and I planned to go photograph a field of poppies but of course the rain came in and it was not suitable weather for poppies. I have just returned from another short walk with Xena and we got caught in the rain which she does not like.

Tomorrow Meriel is arriving to stay with us - the lockdown rules change from tomorrow that a single person can join another household and it has been months since Luke has seen her.

It's Friday night and we are getting a take away again, we usually get Italian but Adam requested Indian so that is what we will get. With no poppy photos I took a photo of Adam eating his lunch instead - he made himself a steak salad that was so large he used my mixing bowl rather than a salad bowl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.