Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

London cycle tour

When I woke up this morning and saw that it was not raining, and later it was even bright with a few patches of blue sky, I thought - yes, my rain dance has worked! Today was the day I had organised a cycle tour around the east of London, and cycling in the rain is really not much fun at all. Before I left home I already got 3 cancellations from people who decided not to come because of the weather.

We met near Waterloo Station where we collected our bikes - lovely Pashley bikes, and our tour leader was resplendent in a tweed jacket, silk neck scarf, plus fours and a tweed flat cap. The area behind Waterloo Station was quite unknown to me and it is a charming area of grade I listed buildings and narrow streets that is often used in movie locations. We had a lovely morning cycling east towards Wapping, stopping along the way for our guide to explain historical areas of significance.

You would think that cycling in London, one of the busiest cities in the world, would be a nightmare, but thanks to Boris, who when he was mayor of London did so much for the cyclists of the city especially by introducing the cycle superhighways. We were so lucky as it was dry all morning and as we reached our destination for lunch - the famous Prospect of Whitby pub - it started raining.

After lunch it was raining consistently so I changed into waterproof trousers and everyone made sure they had their wet weather clothing on. Cycling in the rain is not much fun, your hands get slippery on the brakes and you cannot avoid puddles due to the traffic. Cycling over Tower Bridge in heavy traffic was a little scary but we soon got into the back lanes and cobblestone alleyways (very bumpy on a bike!). By the time we finished our ride I felt like a drowned rat! However, there was something quintessentially British about cycling on a Pashley bike, complete with the wicker basket in the front, in the rain in London.

This is a photo of our group in front of St Paul's cathedral.

I managed to dry out on the train home, and tonight I have book club but thankfully I will be driving there and not cycling there in the rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.