Week 12 - Day 4 - blooming flower bed

I am so pleased with this little flower bed. Since I created it last year, it has now filled out beautifully, and all the colours and textures of the plants here blend beautifully, but are all so different. I don't know the names of everything. One I think is a poached egg plant, and I know the heuchera, then I have a plant we call 'Nana's pink flowers' and I have some lovely pinks just flowering. But I don't know the names of the red flowers, but have sent photos to my friends and I am hoping she can tell me. I trimmed the grass at the edge, with scissors, and while I was kneeling down I could hear the bees all buzzing. My hair is a bit wild, and a bee must have climbed across because my head was down. When I went back to the house, I could still hear the buzzing and realised a bee was on me. I jumped about and took my hair clip out, shaking my hair. The buzzing stopped, so I thought it had gone, but decided to go upstairs to get Mollie to check...just in case! The bee was climbing up my back, heading towards my neck! She put a cup over him, and walked behind me, holding the cup on my back, and we got the bee back to those red flowers!

I started work a bit later as I took Henry to work first thing, and then went to my allotment on the way back, to drop off a broken gazebo from mums, that I'm hoping I can make into either a poly tunnel, that's not a tunnel, or a permanent netted cage I can walk into, but birds and other wildlife can't.

Work was busy once I eventually started at 8.30. It always is after my day off. Spent the morning catching up with calls and emails that had come in yesterday. I felt very tired, probably because of the driving yesterday. Managed to get some bits done before The friday quiz, which was expertly hosted today by Shenda, with some great questions, included in a PowerPoint. First picture round of the series...we are getting quite professional. Then I did the 'entertainment' which consisted of teaching the gang a simple origami fox. Everyone seemed game, it generated some laughs, and some great origami foxes. ( see my extra)

Going to do some knitting now, I hope to finish my first square tonight!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.