A day trip through 4 counties

Thursday is my day off, as you know, and Henry and I went to Hoddesdon. Left home at 8.30am and arrived at 11.10am without stopping.

Henry did some wiring, to finish a job he did a few weeks ago, and then tried to get a security light working. After wiring it in, it wouldn't work. We went round the corner (the row of shops where, as a child, I was first allowed to go on my own, on Stanstead Road) The shops have changed many times in the intervening years. Henry hot a bulb, which when put in worked, but he could not get the light to work with the sensor, so it then would not turn off. We had to give up. Dad said he will buy a brand new light.

I picked some cherries from an amazing cherry tree in their garden. They are not quite fully ripe, but red and sweet. I picked the darkest ones. I don't want mum or dad going up the step ladder, but I know they will if left! Hopefully I can go back in another couple of weeks to pick more for them when they are riper.

Had a poke about in dad's extremely cluttered (he has never thrown anything away in his 90 years) and dirty, cobwebby garage, while Henry was doing the wiring. I could have taken more pots, tins or first aid stuff for my glass cabinet, but resisted, and only took two open old rizla packets I found. They probably belonged to one of the men who used to work for dad at B.A.Howard Engineering Ltd, back in the 80s.

We had dinner, trying our best to socially distance. After a cup of tea we left at about 3.30. Stopping in Swaffham for a bit of shopping in Tesco and getting home at after 6.

I'm exhausted. I've done about 5 and a half hours driving. From Norfolk, through Suffolk then Cambridgeshire and ending in Hertfordshire. And back.

Wish we lived closer to the rest of the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.