a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Shield Bug

I think that this is a hairy or sloe shieldbug (Dolycoris baccarum).  I don't know this, but I have cheated and looked through the ID guide for shield bugs and allies at the British Naturalists Association web page.  Lest any readers think that I follow my brother-in-law Incredibish's penchant for naked gardening I want to stress that this is the British Naturalists Association and not the equivalent naturists's association.

As a hairy shieldbug it seems pretty appropriate for lockdown.  I had a video chat with my sister Janet and Incredibish earlier on this afternoon and they both commented on my growing locks.  They are not actually flowing yet, but there's definitely a lot more of them than normal.

It has been a pleasantly restful Saturday so far.  I've pottered around baking a wholemeal sourdough loaf that looks really quite promising fresh out of the oven (although you never know until you cut into it).  

I spent a happy time in the garden trying to take pictures of small things with a macro lens although the wind did make it very challenging given the narrow depth of field one is struggling with.So this is rather a triumph in terms of its sharpness.  

I see some amazing macro shots on the web, but most of them involve stacking, i.e. compositing a series of images at slightly different focal lengths.  I can see how you can do that outdoors but presumably only if the insect is very , very, cold and the air very still but it would require a frosty morning really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.