Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

On the edge of the crop

It rained a lot this morning and the visibility was very poor. The cats went out and returned wet. They dried off and went out again. And so it went on.

After lunch I put on waterproofs and went for a walk. The rain had stopped and I was very hot. The waterproof trousers were a mistake!

On the way to Keepershield Farm I walk along the edge of a field that is full of oil seed rape. Just beyond the crop is a lovely stretch of pink corydalis. You might also just see that there are tiny violas growing amongst this. 

The atmosphere was heavy and I felt as though the sky was bearing down upon me. After about 30 mins there was a bit more light and the sun tried to break through.

At Keepershield I spotted a tiny bird on a wire fence. It was so tiny I wondered it if was a goldcrest. It was a fledgling long tailed tit. A rather harassed looking parent fed it very frequently. 

Why did I just have a 35 mm lens on the camera?! It was impossible to go close without risking that the parent would leave the area. 

My route was via Haughton Castle and home.

This morning members of the Tynedale Photo Group shared their image of the week. We were asked to produce a triptych. It was a difficult challenge but there were some excellent images. I did a jokey one of Julie who looked as though she was doing a star jump. I can't put it here because it was taken on Thursday. You will have to take my word that it was funny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.