Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A big long walk

Trixie and Ann (TrixietheCollie) are always going on "big, long walks" so I thought it was time I did one. My walks over the last ten days have been quite short.

Today dawned rainfree but grey. I drove to Steel Rigg car park on Hadrian's Wall Trail and planned an 8 mile route. It is one of my all time favourite walks.

The car park was almost full at 11am and obtaining a parking ticket was a challenge. I usually have a yearly permit, but there is no way to buy one at the moment. The machine is card only and very, very slow. 

Finally I set out to walk on the footpath that is north of the Wall. Most people were going on the Trail itself. Soon I could see Sycamore Gap to the south. I pulled out my phone to send a message to Mum, but there was no 'phone. Had I dropped it? Had I left it in the car?

I had to return to the car, so that added more than 2 miles to my walk. The phone was on the back seat. I sat and ate my sandwiches and watched a queue of 12 people try to obtain parking tickets. Eventually the man from the coffee van told them they did not need to pay!

I was determined to do the walk and started again. The sun came out and it was very hot for most of the way. I met quite a few people and felt I should tell those with dogs about the herd of cows and calves ahead. The calves were fairly big but I could see that some people were not regular walkers. They were all fine about my little "lectures". I was concerned because there have been very few walkers over the last 3 months and the cows are not accustomed to them.

A lapwing made his displeasure known each time (3) I walked past his nest. It was lovely to see the birds flying. The skylarks were very vocal and I heard curlew laster in the day.

Early on I saw orange tip butterflies. I also saw Lady's smock (the cuckoo flower). I said to myself "I don't expect to hear the cuckoo", thinking they had gone back to Africa. I was WRONG. Soon a cuckoo was calling. (I've read up since and the adults stay until July or August; the young go off in June.)

When I arrived at Greenlee lough, the cuckoo was in the woods beside the bird hide. I walked very slowly towards it, hoping to see it. The bird stopped singing as I walked closer and I had the delight of seeing it fly. It soon started singing again.

The cotton grass was sparkling in the sun.

I met more walkers today than usual and told lots of them about the Haltwhistle Walking Festival next year.

The end of my walk was up "Marj's Hill". This is a short, very steep, ascent. I've led walks here many times, so the hill was given my name. People are usually cursing as they climb it.

What a brilliant day out.

PS While I was out I had a phone call from Christine and Henry who were at my house with a present. They left it in the box at our door. I came home to find scones, cream, strawberries, chocolates and a bouquet of fragrant roses. All to cheer us. Wasn't that very kind?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.