Manor Farm, Stainborough Lane

Looking a bit derelict now as it is no longer used for the dairy herd.  The family have another farm a mile or so away from this one.  The farm sheep are in the first fields we crossed after leaving home and I’ve not seen so many in these fields ever before and I’ve been walking this route for 20+ years now.  
The `Manor’ part of the farm name intrigued me and I thought I’d have a look at the old Ordnance Survey Maps to see if I could find evidence for `The Manor’, keeping in mind that Stainborough Castle - a former Wentworth family stately home, is about a mile away, but the earlier maps list it as Stainborough Lane Farm.  I wonder when it got delusions of grandeur.  Well according to. the maps this was sometime after 1990 and before 2010.

We had a very leisurely circular walk this afternoon partly on the road and partly on one path I’ve seldom walked - between Stainborough Lane and Hood Green.  Lots of wild roses growing in the hedgerows - the pink ones are very lovely and a few Meadow Brown butterflies in flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.