Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hectic Roots

I smiled when I saw the theme for Mono Monday today was 'hectic'. I am sure very few people know that many South Africans use the word 'hectic' in everyday speech to describe something that is extreme, surprising, large, out of the ordinary - in fact it is used as an adjective for pretty much everything. So these above ground roots, holding down a very tall tree as it grows precariously on the edge of that hill, would definitely be considered hectic - as in 'Jeez, look at those roots, they are pretty hectic!' It is not the definition that Laurie who suggested the theme was thinking of, but it is my interpretation of it!

Usual morning dog walk with Xena followed by grocery shopping. I noticed that a few more shops, but not all,  are now open in the village as from today all shops may open again. I saw news reports of long queues today as people rushed to go shopping at Zara and Primark - increasing footfall on the High Street by 40%.

I received an email from the club we belong to saying that they are taking bookings for accommodation and also for their restaurants which will all open from 11 July, so I made a reservation in the main restaurant for my birthday which is at the end of August. Being a club and a place we are familiar with I am sure they will be able to space out the tables and take all the necessary precautions. 

Gavin has spoken to the doctor and the matron of the frail care clinic where his mum lives and the doctor thinks it is a UTI with dehydration so has prescribed antibiotics and needs body samples to do further tests as there are other symptoms that need checking.Elderly people who get an UTI often get associated confusion and that is why she was making no sense when Gavin and his brother tried to talk to her. The distance is difficult when a family member is ill but Gavin is phoning regularly for updates. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.