Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A farewell BBQ

Last night's arts society committee dinner was lovely, and as is custom with retiring committee members we are presented with a gift. I got a very large and beautiful bunch of flowers plus two Dartington glass vases (a Devon based glass company) - I was asked to give a hint of what I would like and I had requested a vase. They are exquisite and completely to my taste. (I got two as one was below the cost of the allocated budget on what they could spend on my gift!)

Today was another blustery and cool day - I am getting fed up with this summer weather that is not a summer. This afternoon we had a farewell BBQ at school for Thomas' (and his brothers) house master who after 13 years in the role is moving into senior management at the school. All the boys and parents from the past 13 years were invited back to a hog roast BBQ. Luke and Adam also came and were very pleased to see many of their friends from school. Thomas took a break from his studying to come for a while, (mainly to see his brothers who he has not seen in some time). It was a lovely event and good to see so many people come back for this occasion. It was cold standing outside, and at one point it even rained a bit. It was a wonderful event - the house master said a speech and then Gavin followed it with a speech to thank him. I took some photos, and here is one of Thomas chatting to some of the boys.

It is lovely to have Adam and Luke home - we are having a BBQ tonight as an early celebration of Father's Day tomorrow, as Adam is going back to Cambridge tomorrow for May Week and Thomas wants to study all day. Luke arrived with all his stuff from university so I must go help trying to find where it must be stored...any university parent will know what I mean, when your hallway is just loaded with all their things and you have to try and find a home for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.