TMac

By TMac

Domestic Duties

Daughter and I were home alone today.
I was pleased that she decided she had completed her online schooling for the day, and was happy to accompany me on a walk in the rain.
Before we left, she was captivated by a Blue Tit chick being fed on our washing line.
We stood at the kitchen window watching for a while and I took the opportunity to identify the other birds in the garden - she listened and there were no rolling eyeballs!
On our five-mile walk in the damp woods, we saw a Woodpecker feed its young, a Roe Deer doe stop and watch us watching it, a Red Squirrel leap from bough to bough with a pine cone in its mouth and heard a multi-track of bird calls and songs.
She ventured into the darker part of the woods with me as I tried to find out the source of a lot of screeching - I suspect a mobbing of some bird of prey, but we couldn't see into the leaves of the tall tree where the commotion was happening.
We sat on a log and shared a drink and some Squashies and a bar of chocolate.
These are the best moments of parenting.
She only looked at her phone once and was happy to clamber over fallen logs and under dripping branches...
I would like to bottle these times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.