Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Gailey Roundhouse

L was riding today so I asked her to drop me off near the stables and I would walk home.  This involved crossing the Teddesley Estate, down the canal and then cross country to pick up the disused canal that ran back to the estate where we live.

It started misty but soon the sun broke through.  There was much more activity on the canals with a regular passing of narrow boats along the length of the Staffordshire and Worcester Canal I walked along.  

This is the Roundhouse at Gailey.  Apparently the tower was built to allow the lock keeper to see north along the canal.  The A5 crosses the canal at this point and a normal cottage wouldn't have afforded a view over the road bridge.  It is a grade II listed building.

I made it home with an average speed of better than 3 miles an hour for the whole walk.  This included a couple of diversions where the footpaths I was trying to use were either none existent or blocked by the land owners actions.  It proved quite a warm and humid day and I have struggled this evening with muscle aches and a headache.  Despite drinking a fair amount of water I reckon I was dehydrated by the end of the walk. 

Note to self, use the bladder so you have more water available on these walks!

Day Miles: 16.5 miles Total miles: 790.3 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.