atoll

By atoll

My Little Honey Bun

Drove into Manchester on my own this morning to catch the exhibition Focal Points: Art and Photography which is on until the 7th April at the City Art Gallery. Around 30 works were on display to show that " Photography is at the heart of some of the most significant works of art".

My favourite was the one by Donald Rodney seen in the above link, and called In The House Of My Father. It shows his hand cradling a tiny model house crafted from his skin removed during operations to combat his sickle cell anaemia. On the whole though I was disappointed, and for some works, not moved or impressed.

The same could not be said for the brilliant permanent exhibition always on here. I stood for a while marvelling at a sequence of the oh-so-familiar and iconic Pre-Raphaelite paintings like Hylas and the Nymphs by Waterhouse. It seemed strange to actually look upon the real thing, having seen so many prints and postcards.

One downside of Manchester is that even on a Sunday, street parking is very strict and expensive, with fines handed-out regularly by it's herds of fascist wardens. The length of my visit then today had to be governed by the change I had for the meter, and how much time that would buy me. More than £3 of coins fed-in allowed me an hour only. I couldn't believe it.

I did make sure I had a little time left over at the end for a quick stroll through China Town seen here, and a trip to it's famous bakery to buy me and MrsB both mini Pork and Honey Buns for afternoon tea.

I headed home via a Rusholme detour and walkabout, where I spotted some amazing looking Shisha smoking houses scattered along Rusholme's 'Curry Mile'. Need to revisit that when I have more time. I finished off by buying MrsB some Curry Leaf, Sharon Fruit, Guava and Custard Apples.

Aways wise to keep her sweet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.