ANOTHER FLOWER FOR TINY TUESDAY

When I went out for my walk yesterday, I also saw this pretty little wildflower so had to choose between this and the Bittersweet Nightshade, which as you know, won the day.

However, I decided to go out early this morning to try and find this wildflower again - no mean feat in a huge field, that I now call “my field” but I did it!  I remembered that it was just before the huge thistles and a walkway into the nearby Okebourne Park, so after looking around for a while I found it.  

Interestingly, despite walking around the perimeter of the field for several weeks, this is the only Meadow Vetchling I have seen, and I do look carefully at all the flowers, which is one reason I walk so slowly.  It’s proper name is "Lathyrus pratensis" and I found out the following from Mr. Google: 

“It’s a member of the pea family with narrow green leaflets that have tendrils at their tips to help them grab surrounding vegetation.  The clusters of between 5 and 12 pea-shaped flowers are bright yellow, produced on upright stems and are followed by conspicuous black seed pods."

I have just looked at the theme for Tiny Tuesday and see it is "vegetable" - well, this will have to do, and after all, it is a member of the pea family!  

On my way into the field I met a lovely couple who were walking their dog, so stopped and had a “physically distanced” chat with them.  They told me about another lovely walk that takes in Liden Lagoon, and when I explained about Blip, they said that I should go over there as there are 7 cygnets and lots of Canadian goose babies too.  That might have to be a walk when Mr. HCB comes too - just in case I get lost!

We sat out in the garden to have our coffee in bright sunshine, but it’s clouding up a little now - Mr. HCB said he wouldn’t mind if it rains as he has just put out lots of plants he has grown from seed, and a gentle sprinkling of rain would do them good.

After I had taken lots of photographs, I went and stood under my willow tree - see extra - and recorded a video for our “1 Minute Story” slot in our Church Service for Sunday.  It was so good to be out enjoying God’s wonderful creation although I am mindful of all those who are still not able to go out, those who are grieving the loss of loved ones and those for whom this time is really difficult.  If you would like to see the video, let me know and I will let you have a link.  

“God gave us creation to enjoy it. 
     I believe this is the reason we fight against injustice 
          so that all of creation can experience 
               the beauty of God's goodness and grace.”
Sho Baraka

P.S.  This is the song I sing as I walk round my field - The Blessing - and I love this version "signed" by people from all over the UK.  Enjoy.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.