WILDFLOWER WALK

Mr. HCB was up and out in the garden very early this morning, so after our Waitrose delivery, I decided to go out for a walk on my own and enjoyed, once again, all the sights and sounds in “my field”.  I stopped and looked at many different wildflowers and of course, took lots of photographs and then on the way back, these caught my eye.

I thought at first they were Deadly Nightshade, but on checking find they are actually Bittersweet or Woody Nightshade or to give them their proper name, Solanum Dulcamara characterised by their purple petals and yellow stamens.  

I was very careful not to touch the leaves or the flowers as this is a poisonous plant but different birds like the bittersweet berries including blackcaps, blackbirds, song thrushes, robins and wood pigeons.  Apparently, in the Middle Ages, as the plant was thought to be effective against witchcraft, it was sometimes hung around the neck of cattle to protect them.  Amazing the things we find out when researching things for Blip.

Before afternoon tea with our neighbours, I really must do some housekeeping on my photographs - I have far too many “doubles” and unless I’m going to use the photograph again, I doubt I really need them all.  I have also just had a package delivered containing a mount for my iPad to attach it to one of my tripods, so I would like to have a play with that too.  

I can honestly say that even during the many weeks we have been in lockdown, I have never been bored and can always find something to do - although some jobs are more pleasant than others;  cleaning of the house and windows is still a long way down the list!

It’s another beautiful sunny day, with just a hint of a breeze, so very pleasant, although Mr. HCB tells me that we may have some showers later today or tomorrow - or as he put it “It's going to be a bit of a mixed bag as far as weather is concerned this week.”

“The cure for boredom is curiosity. 
     There is no cure for curiosity.”
Dorothy Parker

P.S.  On our way out in the car yesterday afternoon, Mr. HCB and I were surprised to see a man and woman walking over to our field carrying two large bagfuls of what was obviously garden rubbish - I found it when I walked over there today - why do people have to treat beautiful places with such disrespect?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.