100 ABSTRACT CHALLENGE - NUMBER 62

We decided not to get up so early this morning and Mr. HCB said he wasn’t intending to do anything in the garden before he went out walking with his friend, Barry, so I must admit, I lounged in bed, probably for longer than I should have done, but of course, being retired, I can!

Knowing that I would be driving Mr. HCB to his friend’s house, I decided that I would go on over to a local garden centre to buy some lights for the garden, which I duly did.  You might know that I took quite a few photographs of different items, including several watering cans and pots in varying colours.  However, I wasn’t really happy with any of the shots, so had to think of something else.

On the way back, I remembered that sometime ago, we had been for coffee at the Deanery C of E Academy, so decided a little detour was in order, especially as I knew there was some lovely black and white paving outside.

When I got there, unfortunately, the café was closed, so I just started taking a few photographs when a young lady asked if she could help me.  I explained about taking a photograph every day and about my Abstract challenge and asked if it was OK if I carried on taking photographs and she said it was.  Having found the paving, I noticed that there were some great shadows from the handrails on the steps nearby, so again, I took quite a lot of shots, but both Mr. HCB and I liked this one best.  Interestingly, the young lady who had spoken to me looked askance when I spoke out loud and said "What wonderful shadows", so I asked her if she had even noticed them and she said she hadn't.  She obviously doesn't have a Blipping brain - meant in the nicest possible way!

This is Number 62 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, which helps girls in North Malawi who are unable to pay their fees to complete their secondary education.  Many of these girls go on to become involved in their communities in teaching, nursing and administration.

NOLIA comes from a background of a family with five children where three are girls and two are boys. She joined Mchengautuba Community Day Secondary School at Form 1 at a low ebb in her life where her ailing mother could hardly work for the family. 

Nolia did everything for herself. Little did she know that one day she would become a star.  The Mamie Martin Fund has broken the chains of despair and ignited the zeal for learning. She is now in Form 4 hoping she will do well and knock the doors of  Malawian universities. 

“Sometimes the bravest and
     most important thing you can do 
         is just show up.”
Brene Brown

P.S.  We have noticed just lately that there are lots of damselflies about and when Mr. HCB and I were sitting in the garden yesterday, he pointed out two who were on our Blue Angel clematis plant.  His eyesight is much better than mine, because I couldn't see them until I got much closer!  I took several photographs, but then decided to shoot a video and this is the result, which I have put on YouTube - do have a look - nature is so amazing! 

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.