STRAWBERRY MOON

I was comfortable in my chair, and enjoying the warmth around my neck when the regional news finished at 10.45 pm last night, so Mr. HCB went on up to bed.

When I eventually went upstairs at 12:45 am, I remembered that Wendy,  a friend of mine, had messaged me yesterday morning to let me know that there would be a full moon – known as a “strawberry moon”, so as it was now officially Wednesday, I decided to go back downstairs to fetch my Canon camera and take a few shots.

Strawberry Moon is the name for June's full moon, but the name comes from the Algonquin Native American tribe in the North Eastern northeastern U.S. and Eastern Canada and actually refers to the region's strawberry harvesting season and not the moon's actual colour.

It was quite a strain on my neck looking upwards but as I hadn’t seen a full moon for sometime, I decided that it had to be done. I don’t think I’ve ever taken a photograph with the trees shielding the moon so much and nor have I seen it so low down in the sky.  I was especially thrilled when I saw the pareidolia in this particular shot – which made me think of my dear friend, LSquare, who lives “Across the pond“ and is the “Queen of Pareidolia” on Blip. If you don’t believe me, have a look at some of her shots!

After yesterday’s adventure, today is going to be a restful day - I just wish the Silly Saturday Gang were around to do some housework as there are lots of jobs that need doing - and of course, Mr. HCB spends most of his time “pottering” in the garden when he’s not at a cricket match!

Thank you all, once again, for your kind comments on yesterday's Blipmeet shot - I understand that Heidi had another Blipmeet in the evening with CherryFlapjack - and I also understand there were donuts, but as with our afternoon tea, food eaten outside loses most of its calories, or so I'm told!

“We may look at the same moon,
     but our hearts sing different songs
          depending on our inner emotions
               and perceptions.”
Debasish Mridha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.