Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A BEAUTIFUL FLORAL GIFT

We have been at our new Church, Gorse Hill Baptist,for about 15 months now and are getting to know people;  one of the ways we are doing this is to invite them over for coffee and a chat.  There is never enough time to get to know someone in the few minutes after the services, so for a few weeks, we have invited people round and today was the turn of Pete and Sarah - such a lovely couple.

When they parked the car, Sarah got out and was carrying this beautiful arrangement of flowers from their garden, which she gave me - there is something about receiving a floral gift especially from the donors’ own garden, that is very touching.  

I wondered what the small white flowers were, but Sarah said she couldn’t remember, so I used the app on my phone that tells me and apparently, this is “Fuzzy Deutzia”.  There was also some rosemary, which will be carefully preserved to use with some lamb chops I have in the freezer and three gorgeous orange roses.  I also found that one of the rosemary sprigs had a little “heel” so that has been put into a separate little vase to see if I can get it to grow some roots before putting it into the garden.

We had a lovely time together and sat in the garden, in a cool and shady corner.  What a joy to be able to make new friends at our age - we are so grateful and blessed - and especially friends who have the same faith and focus as we do and also the same great sense of humour!

Mr. HCB has gone out to do the shopping, as I’m not quite up to doing that yet - but hopefully, when I have been to see my physiotherapist this evening, I may know more about what’s causing the pain in my legs - strangely enough, I don’t have any pain in my knees, but severe pain down both legs so yesterday, I was using two walking sticks to get around.  

I guess I do have this phobia, to a degree, having had four operations in total on both knees and am afraid to kneel down!

GENUPHOBIA 
Fear of knees - people with genuphobia are afraid of knees — be it their own, someone else's, or the act of kneeling. This fear usually stems from a traumatic knee injury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.