The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Climbing rose

I discovered this while taking a distanced call in the garden today. I like to walk about while I'm on the phone.
What a surprise! I haven't hung up the washing for a day or two: had I done so, I would have noticed it, as its in that general area. Our garden is a wilderness.

Quite a part of the day was taken up with writing something for my old school's 90th anniversary. Ten questions were asked. I've written an essay! Why? Because most people won't bother. Because those, like me, who didn't enjoy their experience, will see only negatives and refuse to take part. Of course my essay will be edited down to a few words of glowing positivity.

I have to say I'm not impressed by the questionnaire. The title is "Ninety years AT K.....". Surely that should be "Ninety years OF K...." Reminds me of "Twelve years a slave". However, it was the former owners of my school. Building that were Scottish slave traders, not the nuns.
The other glaring area of inaccuracy was in the final question, "please may you send a photo...?". Standards have slipped, and that's saying something.

Anyway, it's done. I just have to work out how to send it back, since my contact has been through Messenger so far. Actually, one of the girls had an Italian surname that I recognised, and I realised I was far more interested in talking about her relatives ' corner shop in Marchmont, Edinburgh, than dredging up my school days.

Went for a walk. The air was incredibly still. Came back, and shortly afterwards we had a very noisy, bright thunderstorm. Had to unplug all devices, shut the windows and lock down. It was much more like a central European summer storm, with the thunder seeming to bounce along the roof like canon balls. Haven't been out since, but presumably the air is clearer now.

Frjend D is taking his new tablets and asking me if he should stay at home and not drink alcohol. I replied in the affirmative.

In other news, I bought some unusual mint stamps at the start of lockdown. They can still be used a postage stamps, two per letter, and I've been sending them out on cards. Most people don't appear to notice them, but I found out today that at the care home I'd been writing to, the activities coordinator has been sharing the cards with the residents, showing the stamps to the old men who love stamps, and then sending them to her nephew, who is a collector. I asked her how they'd all been and she said there had been no CoVid-related deaths at all. Soon the residents will be allowed to sit out on balconies, and receive visitors. That is the best news I've heard in ages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.