We had a small tragedy this morning

... when this tiny delicate little bird hit the window - seemingly not too hard, but clearly hard enough to break its very tiny neck.  It was lying on the ground when I went downstairs with no sign of life.  I think it was a. youngster that hadn’t learnt about windows.  I wasn’t sure which of these two birds it was, but its pale legs suggest it was a Willow Warbler.  We hear summer visitors but rarely see them in the summer foliage.  The Chiff Chaff is easy to identify by its call but I’m not sure I’d be able to identify the Willow Warbler in this way.  They are one of those birds that make long, long journeys from their wintering grounds in Southern Africa - it’s quite amazing that such a tiny bird should fly so far to its breeding ground here for it all to be over so quickly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.