Why be a gardener when you can be a miner?

Yesterday afternoon I took my tools down to the bottom of my bank, near the roadside, to plant my big potted Arisaema griffithii, which I dug up from behind my house when I lived at Arduaine. I'd grown it from quite a small tuber and now it's pretty big. As I thought, the ground was more stones than soil and I put off the job until today.

I came back to it today and must have taken as much stone as soil out of the hole. Working beside the road takes longer than elsewhere, as today when a neighbour came by and we talked for half an hour! The finished job is the extra.

I saw this plant in a forest in Nepal. We had walked through it on the way to Makalu and passed hundreds of them filling up much of the ground space. When we returned a week later they had all been dug up and bits of bitten tuber lay everywhere - the work of Himalayan black bears  looking for food, according to our sirdar, Chheduk Man Lama. I (naughtily) wrapped a bitten tuber up and brought it home, but in spite of treating it with sulphur it rotted away very quickly. Toxic bear saliva, no doubt!

Quote of the Day:

Aaron Burr Jr - “Never do today what you can put off till tomorrow. Delay may give clearer light as to what is best to be done.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.