Oban's beach

Another rather fuggy day today tho' the sun began to shine in late afternoon. I had to go down to the garden centre to buy some compost, so for a change we drove to Ganavan, which is the town's only real sandy beach, and had a walk along the shore and round about. Good to see families and kids playing on the beach and orchids blooming in the grass.

There are many stories about Ganavan, how it was given to the town for the benefit of the people - I must check up on the truth of this story sometime. Whatever the truth, a few years ago the council demolished the old pavilion and built a large number of houses and flats overlooking the beach. Most of these, I'm told, are second homes.

There are now moves afoot to schedule the land above the beach itself for development, tho' this is still only on the Development Plan. Before long there will be nowhere in Oban that's not spoilt by over-development!

Quote of the day:

Isaac Newton - “To myself I am only a child playing on the beach, while vast oceans of truth lie undiscovered before me”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.