Warning - approaching bee!

Mostly sunny today - I had a good weeding session on the drive bed. It was absolutely covered in celandine – they came in with the free soil, proving that there’s no such thing as a free lunch! What I hadn’t realised before is that as the plant dies down it seems to produce tubers on the surface in addition to those underground. It’s very pretty in flower, especially en masse, but will take over if it’s left to its own devices. According to the Portland, Oregon ‘Homes and Gardens’ website, which I happened on by chance when Googling - “Removing this plant is tricky. All parts of the plant as well as any soil near the plant must be placed in a bag and thrown in the trash.” You can’t beat throwing something in the trash!

After lunch I went to the Walled Garden to finish the weeding session which I began last week until chased off by the midges. It was OK there while the sun was out and I took a few pictures including this one, which by complete chance included a bee! As soon as the sun disappeared behind the trees and into the clouds the little chappies came out in their droves. Fortunately I’d finished weeding and earthing up the spuds so I left them to annoy other people and came home. Off to Mull tomorrow to stay with Daughter One for a few days.

Quote of the Day:

William Wordsworth – “Long as there's a sun that sets, Primroses will have their glory; Long as there are violets, They will have a place in story: There's a flower that shall be mine, 'Tis the little Celandine.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.