Decoration

Dropped off S and her Granny Sitter, Mr H, at the General Practitioner this morning. They got a taxi back to the apartment, as I had to be at the unit. My registrar works in Liaison Psychiatry on Thursdays, and so all being otherwise equal I have to be in the ward There was one new admission from yesterday, and those already in are making progress towards transfer to the general wards. 

At the end of the work day, I cycled home in one of the few (almost) rainless periods, and then took Mr H home. On the way back I stopped in Ranui Village centre, and took this photograph of the decorative cladding on the Ranui Public Library.

The Auckland City Council is proposing to markedly reduce funding of the library system, on the grounds that a library is not essential. When I went past, despite it being a wet afternoon, there were at least half a dozen young children in the library. For children of parents who may have lost their jobs due to the Covid-19 lockdown, a public library offers access to many books, and can only be seen as essential to them improving their chances of maximising their potential.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.