Transitional

Worked from home today, which meant I had time to deal with the email war as well as joining a number of meetings by Zoom. I combined that with helping S on those occasions she needed assistance. As the effects of the celecoxib fade off, she is feeling better, although the continuing pain and gastric upset do wear her down. Although my week of being on call won't finish until 0800 on Monday, I will be more available over the next couple of days to help.

Late this afternoon I went for a jog on one of my usual courses; through the Arch Hill Reserve on the walkway, then circling back via Grey Lynn. Slight variation in which street I used to link Crummer Road to Great North Road, and on that road I saw this manhole cover. 

Hynds is the manufacturer of a number of those I have seen and photographed previously. But this particular name (Hynds Terretain) is new to me. So I tried a search. What I found was that Terretain was a company which traded for nine years until March 1992, when the company name was changed to Hynds Terretain. In August 1993, the Terretain was dropped and the company name reverted to Hynds Pipe Systems, the name having started in 1979.

This particular cover was presumably made in the 17 month period that the Hynds Terretain company was in existence. Before then Hynds were manufacturing iron castings, and since then also. A very traditional and unfancy design.

I have put up as an extra the last second of the setting of the sun, seen from the Ariki deck after I had come inside from my jog. I'm trying to be as true as possible to the name of my journal, and preferentially choose as my blip a photo taken when on a jog, a walk, or when cycling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.