2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Anton and Erin do Hollywood

Set off earlier to work so that I could make an earlier escape.

We got tickets for Anton and Erin's show 'Anton and Erin go to Hollywood' for M in L's Christmas present. She's a big fan of Strictly Come Dancing. We decided that it would be best for me to head directly to the theatre in Basingstoke from work and meet the others there. It seemed like a good plan......until I got to Waterloo and realised that there were severe delays out of London due to emergency track repairs.

My train stopped, moved for a couple of minutes, stopped, waited, moved and stopped for over an hour before we had even left the outskirts of London. I was beginning to get a bit worried that I wouldn't make it in time. As always, when something like this happens, my phone battery decided to empty. The train guard was very apologetic and did his best to keep a trainful of tired commuters happy.

Eventually, with 15 minutes before curtain up (and a journey time of over 90 minutes rather than 40), I got to the theatre. I beat the trumpet player who must have been on a train behind me as he did not get to his seat in the orchestra until the show was well into the first half.

The show was very good - great dancing, brilliant singer and support dancers and a good orchestra. Worn out by the time we got home though!

I took my photo very discretely before the lights went down and the show started but a lady in front of us was taking lots of photos during the show - I was a bit surprised that she got away with it and it also seemed a bit rude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.