If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Water Hawthorn (Aponogeton distachyos)

With the day being dry and pleasant if not terribly sunny I decided to have a couple of hours chatting to Kanyl in his garden.  Not only did this provide a nice social interlude it presented me with a different range of flowers etc for blipping.

My eyes always turn to his pond as opposed to the tiny puddle we have.  His Water Lily wasn't in flower but the Water Hawthorn caught my eye.  It seems to have at least one flower every time I am there.  The strange structure always interests me.  I suppose the shape has evolved to present the stamens etc on a nice platform for insects to be able to pollinate it.  Incidentally it appears to have two scientific names A distachyos and A distachyum.
Aponogeton distachyos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.