Beefy Lorelei

By beefylorelei

Biggest yet.

This is my 4th attempt at a woodturned bowl.

Unfinished as still needs sanded for a million hours then wire wooled for 1/2 a million then waxed and polished.

It's sycamore this time. Desert spoon for scale as it is the largest one I've attempted. It's very pale and could benefit from a slight stain.

I'm thinking about that though. I'd like them to be as natural as possible. I like using beeswax on these so they can be used for food. I also like the fact that apart from the turning tools and electricity they are kind of hidden in natural wood and I want to retain the raw material as much as possible.

Sounds very "arty farty" but believe me there is a lot of care and thought going into these. Even if it is a simple bowl.

I'm enjoying these and the self teaching as much as I did learning guitar and surfing. Neither of which I've mastered, but both things I want to be doing for the rest of my life. I'm serious! I want to be attempting this trinity of things for as long as I can put on, or get help to put on, a wetsuit!

Thanks for looking. Sorry for another bowl. There may be more I warn you.


B

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.