A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

On the edge of the moor

We headed up to the moor this morning. A completely different day to the past two, the dappled sun and the birdsong in the woods en route was lovely.

Not too many people about we crossed the moor watching a remote controlled aircraft circling over head. I’d just mentioned to Chris that I was sure I’d seen Ling (heather) flowering as early as June last year when we came across the first few clumps of lovely purple. Thought they might be my blip but dropping down to the hamlet of Ryecroft I had an idea that there might be some wild meadow poppies to be blipped and here they are. We don’t have much arable land in this area and so rarely see lots of wild poppies. I love them so there was no contest in the choice of my blip. There is heather in the extra and there will be lots more to come over the next two months, looking it’s best when it turns the moorlands purple.

As we got to the village to deliver my son his sunflower crunch (yes I carried it all the way!) the sky was looking a bit threatening. We just got in before a very few spots fell and then the sun was back. A very warm afternoon. Should have been our village gala today, apart from a soggy field it would have been a perfect afternoon for it.
We’ve got fish and chips ordered for tea, really looking forward to them as it’s almost exactly three months since I last had them.
Then it’s the Players quiz. A good Saturday!

Stay safe everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.