Another flowering red amaryllis

I found I'd left this bulb in a pot in the garden pereched above ground level on an old tank. I'd forgotten to bring it into the shelter of the cabin for the winter. After having dried out at one point, then got wet and rather soaked by immersion, it had plucked up the courage to grow leaves. 

I kept it watered after that, but it remained on the outside tank. About a week ago I returned to look more closely at it leaves and saw that itsmain flowering stem was growing with a big bud for the flowers at its apex. However it had become stunted. The stem grew no further and the bud started to unfurl revealing the red petals of an amaryllis which I remembered as being an extremely attractive colour.

I brought it indoors and watched the unfurling proceed, several months after all my other similar plants had completed their life cycles for the year. A few days ago the first flower started to wilt and then the other three all unfurled in succession. I thought I'd better record the scene whilst the first flower was still there, even if only in its shrivelled state. I'll try to look after it with more care this winter. Promises, promises ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.