ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Father & Son

A very apt title from Cat Stevens for today's photo.
My father died almost two and a half years ago and mother pretty well immediately started getting rid of things, presumably as her way of dealing with it. I had to get in there quickly to save photographs and documents before they were lost forever as I'd always planned on researching the family history after I retired.
It is only during this lockdown that I have had a chance to properly look through the boxes of stuff that I rescued, as the last two years have been mainly spent making sure mum was sorted for the future. Fortunately, we completed on the house sale and had her settled in at my sister's house just ten days before lockdown started!
Looking through the photos, I came across this one. No idea where it was taken, but the date on the back is 1969 and I'm guessing from the buttonhole my dad is wearing that it is probably at a family wedding. I'm going to assume that I am in school uniform as I didn't posses any other sort of smart outfit at the age of nine! Nice to see the interest in photography though, even at that early age.
My dad would only have been 38 when this was taken - less than halfway through his long and full life. I am grateful though that he was not around for this pandemic - I have a feeling he would not have coped well with the restrictions of lockdown, as he was a very sociable man who enjoyed dining out on a regular basis.
I'd better get cracking on that family history. The direct family line dies out with me but I'd like to think my nephew might be interested in knowing where at least part of him comes from. For starters, family legend says that my dad's dad served with Lawrence of Arabia in WWI. I've found a picture of a man in uniform sat on a camel so maybe there is a grain of truth to it after all.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.