Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Take the weight off....

My hand sat over the end of the chair...resting in gentle care upon leather darkened and cracked by countless other travellers...the middle of the cushion formed around the shapes of posteriors from all over the world.

Here upon the morn I sit and think, take in the coming and goings of other patrons of the coffee house. I listen as my little friend turns the pages of the paper, she always flicks through several times. The soft and gentle sound of quiet conversation and peaceful moments spent before the busy day. In repose I watch the arms of the chair dent and move under the elbows of fellow beverage drinkers..it telling the story of lives lived, papers read, moments of musing, phone calls made and work done.

Here I sit..one of many...the chair absorbing my shape...my essence...for a short time at least..absorbing my tale..

When I have gone the space will be filled by another, what will there tale be, what will that familiar view say to them, what thoughts will be theirs? All that I know is that when we sit here..taking the weight off our feet for some moments...we mould the world around us, like the smoothest wood on a country stile, worn glass like by thousands of hands all placed in the same way, making the same journey. The leather worn smooth on the arm...glassy and wonderful...leave only footprints....take only pictures....our stories in the most gentle of script, memories of us as travellers along life's most glorious highway!

See you again tomorrow old friend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.