Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Winding down

Thought I'd do an update on the Flame tree. There are still lots of flowers on it, but you can tell their days are numbered. So sad. This year, we've not been able to enjoy the blooms all over town as we haven't been out as much.

I started the day wanting to achieve so many things but ran out of steam coming up to lunchtime. I did get my visa validity sorted and now have proof that it really is valid until the end of the year - as per a government decree. When we went into lockdown, we were told that any residence visas expiring after 1st March will be automatically renewed until the end of 2020. My bank should know this, but yesterday informed me that they had blocked my credit cards because I hadn't provided them with up-to-date documentation of my status. Yup. That's Dubai. Or the Bank's call centre which is located in Chennai, I believe. So much for contactless payments...

I had a family Zoom call in the evening, a first ever. The occasion was the second death anniversary of an Uncle who moved to Canada. It was an interesting meet-up and I got to hear quite a lot of Punjabi after ages!

G has spent almost all day in her room working on the next lesson for her Summer Fun Club and practising her part for The Lion Sleeps Tonight!

And this is my 2,999th blip! :D  BIG day tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.