Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Milestone

Eight years ago when I signed up to Blipfoto, I never imagined that I would still be here 3,000 blips later. It's another area of my life where I have been consistent. Blipfoto is such a great place and the community is amazing. Thank you to our four volunteers who keep the site going and to all my blip buddies who continue to support me even through times when I have not had a chance to visit journals. I get a new camera today.  :))

My day started early despite my late night. I even made the morning cups of tea. And as I was awake, I decided it's time to tackle my balcony which has not been cleaned since Nara left at the beginning of March. It does not look good. It's so bad, my friends would be surprised I'd let it get to the state its in.

I had a plan in my head... so I got everything I thought I'd need and had it all at the ready near the sliding door. The first thing was to give the floor, rails etc a good sweep as there is nothing worse than wet sand! I did the window next with soapy water and gave the rails a good clean (the pigeons and doves had left their mark). Next, I did the glass on the balcony. I should have cleaned the window on the inside, but it can be done at any time - i.e. I don't have to wait for the cool of the morning for that job. The other two balconies will be tackled the next time I am awake early enough!!

A lot of the day was spent working on the email G sends out on a Thursday. I thought I had put everything in place last night, but there was still more to do. My nephew in Lahore helps with the more techy bits but he was tied up today looking after his wife and younger daughter who are both under the weather. The email eventually went out just before 9 pm. Happy to say it has a new format and a new way of sending, so it should be much easier from now on.

Lastly, the other very happy thing today was the T@3 Zoom call with our Wonersh friends. They are such a great group of people. There was a bit of chatter about opening the church up again to services etc, but a lot of preparation and thought has to go into how it is done as the congregation are in the high-risk category. For a change, G took the family picture.

That's Thursday done... and the weekend begins. We had restrictions on the consumption of alcohol eased last weekend but they have had to be enforced again because of people's carelessness in gathering in large numbers for pool parties. The National Sterilization programme came to an end last night, so all movement restrictions are now lifted. I think that means we can be out until midnight! Sensible people will still be very cautious. We are starting to have terrible road accidents again, a problem that was almost eliminated during the lockdown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.