Of Nature

One of the things that has got me through the last 3 months is observing and enjoying the wildlife in our garden. I don’t think we have ever had so much going on in our small space.

I spent some time this morning watching bees around our little bee hotel (it’s at the travel lodge end of the range). They are leaf cutter bees, although there may be others. I read that there are 7 species in the UK, but I have no idea what the individual in the blip is - a Willughby’s leaf cutter is my best guess, as this species has a more northerly distribution ?

I am amazed that they have taken so readily to what is really a longish small tin filled with sections of bamboo cane. The bee in the blip seems to be looking for a home. I like the way the morning sun (this is going to be the warmest day of the year so far) is catching the fine body hairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.