WHAT A WONDERFUL SURPRISE!

I went out for an early morning walk today, because I knew by how sticky it was at 7.00 a.m. that it would be even stickier and warmer later.  I had something in mind for the Abstract Thursday challenge of "Double Exposure" but sadly it didn't turn out quite as I would have liked.

Mr. HCB was out in the garden by 6.30 again this morning and by the time I got back from my walk just after 9.00 a.m. he had decided that he had had enough and was going to just sit and relax for the rest of the day.

We sat in the blue corner in our garden, having a coffee and listening to a book recommended by Green56 back in February, "The Family Tree", written by the daughter of a friend of hers - I had requested this from our local library and was told it was available from today.  As it is 15 hours long, I thought we had better start listening sooner rather than later, because it is only on loan for two weeks.

After a while, as we were expecting a parcel, we decided that as it was still very hot, we would sit under the carport and wait for the parcel to arrive - after all, we didn't want to miss it by being out in the garden!

After our second cup of coffee, we heard a van coming up the road, and I thought it would be our parcel, but a white van with "The Flower Shop, Swindon" written on the side, pulled up onto our drive.  I thought perhaps it was for our neighbours, but the driver confirmed the bouquet was for us!  What a wonderful surprise, and of course, a Blip that almost literally "fell into my lap!"  Thankfully, my parcel arrived a little later.

So here are my our beautiful flowers, from Sue, a very old friend, as in length of time and not in age, you understand, which will take pride of place in our lounge, as it is probably the coolest room in the house.

Sue and I have supported one another over the years, we have laughed and cried together and have always been there for each other - in fact, she has been like a sister to me - and Mr. HCB has shared in that wonderful friendship.  So thank you, Sue for this beautiful gift - Mr. HCB says that's saved him buying me flowers this weekend!! Ha ha ha ha ;-)

“Close friends are truly 
     life's treasures. 
Sometimes they know us 
     better than we know ourselves. 
With gentle honesty, 
     they are there to guide and support us, 
          to share our laughter and our tears. 
Their presence reminds us 
     that we are never really alone.” 
Vincent van Gogh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.