FLOWER FRIDAY

For many of us with gardens, after the wonderful weather we have been having, we are spoiled for choice when Flower Friday comes along and we are no exception.  We have so enjoyed the poppies, roses, clematis, pansies, sweet peas, daisies and so many other wonderful flowers.

Mr. HCB has nurtured these Calla Lilies since we bought them three years ago, but after they were quite disappointing last year with only one flower, he decided to take them out of the pots earlier the year, trim the roots and repot them and it has worked wonders.  We now have three pots of lilies - yellow, pink and yet to be discovered!  

It was very warm first thing this morning, so I was out in the garden taking lots of flower shots before the sun got too hot.  The Calla Lilies are my main shot and these yellow ones look lovely with the blue fence, but I have put in an extra of our Clematis Blue Angel.  Blue Angel does particularly well in this spot, so we may even move the Clematis Astra Nova from the back fence and put in on the side fence, where it will get more sun and light.  Another job to be done when the weather is much cooler - and dare I say it, we do need some rain to help our flowers and vegetables - Mr. HCB waters them most mornings, but nothing beats gentle rain.

I won’t be going out for a walk today - it is much too hot - but I think we shall sit in the garden, enjoy a cool drink and either read a book or I will continue listening to “The Family Tree” that I mentioned yesterday.  How can anyone think that being retired is boring?

Hope everyone has a good weekend - keep well and stay safe - and don’t join all those people with no common sense who flocked to our beaches yesterday.

I found this quote, but “if push came to shove”, as they say, I think chocolate would win for me - mind you, sitting in our garden with a cup of coffee and a bar of chocolate would be my idea of heaven!

“Gardens and chocolate 
     both have mystical qualities.” 
Edward Flaherty

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.