LAZY WEDNESDAY

I decided it might be a good idea not to go to the Radio Station this week but to be sensible - not something I’m known for - in order to rest my leg because of my “itis” as the “Girls” called it when they gave a ”shout-out” to me on the Girls About Town programme this morning. 

In fact, because Mr HCB was going to be at cricket all day I decided I would stay in bed, at least for the morning, so that I could listen to the programme and rest my leg - in other words, to kill two birds with one stone!  When he went downstairs just after 8 o’clock I snuggied back down in bed and before I knew it it was 9.55 – what a good job I had put the alarm on my phone because it woke me up just in time for the programme, which I really enjoyed, as a listener rather than a participant.   

I learned a lot about the Swindon Food Collective, a food bank in Swindon run by one paid person and 65 volunteers, whose mission is to ”reduce the impact of food poverty on people in crisis in and around the Swindon area."

My antibiotics have to be taken every four hours;  at least one hour before food and if I do eat anything, then I have to wait for two hours afterwards. It’s not easy therefore, fitting in meals with this sort of regime but I’m desperately trying to stick to this because I want this “itis” to go, sooner rather than later!

I eventually went downstairs at about 1:15 having had a shower,  and decided that I would have some soup, made earlier this week, followed by strawberries with Greek yoghurt.  As I was about to prepare my strawberries I remembered a tip that my next door neighbour, Lynn, gave me a couple of days ago.  Who knew that if you pushed a plastic straw straight up through the middle of a strawberry, from the bottom I might add, this takes out the hull?  Lynn is a “mine of information” and although you can actually eat this part of the strawberry, it was so much fun doing it that I thought I would take a picture and share with you - and of course another benefit is that it stopped me wandering around looking for a Blip today! 

I’m now settling down to listen to Wednesday Fizz, on Swindon 105.5 when my Street Challenge will be on at about 2.30 - hope I don’t nod off before then - perhaps I should put my alarm on again!

This quote is something I always used to say to my two sons when they were younger, and it’s still true today!

“You can learn something new
     every day of your life!”
Mrs. HCB

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for my "Blue Angel" blip yesterday.  I rang my Mother this morning;  she said she had had a good night and managed on her own - and her carer had arrived this morning, so it all sounds good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.