ABSTRACT THURSDAY - WAVES

My leg is much better today - I think the antibiotics are kicking in - so we decided to go out for coffee this morning to Jack’s.  We haven’t been for a while, so it was good to see our friends, Trevor and Margaret and I also bumped into Sharon, another old friend, so we all had a good time chatting.  

After that I needed to do some shopping so Waitrose, our preferred supermarket, was the next stop and I did have some vouchers to use, so it seemed sensible to use them before they expire on the 30th June.  Only when we were leaving there did I think to look at the subject for this week’s Abstract Thursday challenge.  When I saw the word “waves” my heart dropped - it’s not easy finding waves when one lives at least 70 miles from the nearest seaside place!

However, as it was quite windy, the water in the canal was being whipped up quite a lot, but because they are building a new bridge over the Wilts & Berks canal, there are lots of fences around and I couldn’t get that close.  Mr. HCB to the rescue once again, when he suggested we go through the nearby Wichelstowe housing estate, park the car and walk towards the canal and the two lakes there.

Off we went and I saw that the wind was moving the water on one of the lakes, so decided to take a chance and shoot it.  It was a shame that I only had  my phone, but it didn’t do too shabby a job and the wind was also making the grasses wave - so a double whammy!   It’s been a beautiful day today, with the sun shining for most of the day, but the wind is quite strong - although if it hadn’t been, of course, I wouldn’t have got a decent Blip!

My Mother is doing well and seems to be coping - the carer came at about 8.30 this morning, which pleased her, as she has been told they can arrive at any time between 7 and 9 a.m.  Thank you for all your kind wishes for her - which we both appreciate very much.

“Don’t worry if you’re making waves
     simply by being yourself;
          the moon does it all the time!”
Scott Stabile

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.