raking

Another photo of a man at work :-)

This time its D. After he has mown all that long grass with the scythe, it has to be raked up into piles. (D calls them Frogpalaces, because they are home to...frogs). The rake he uses is a lovely handmade wooden one, made by a family company called Rudd; you can read all about how they are made here, it's fascinating.

I had a lovely bivvy on top of Skeoch Hill (behind our house) last night, with a spectacular view of the sunset and a sliver of the new moon around 11pm. This morning, making the most of the fine weather, I walked over to Bishop Forest Hill and then down the core path (really just down over the fields, as it isn't marked) to Barbuie Farm and then along the road home.

It has been a HOT day here. I sat in the shade of a tree and read my book for a while ("Fahrenheit 451" by Ray Bradbury) and then had an hour of FaceTime with my parents and brother. It sounds as though normal activities are being resumed alarmingly quickly down south. I feel relieved to live in Scotland where the pace of lockdown easing feels a little less frenetic. It would be a shame to have to reverse all the progress if infection rates rise again.

Luke and Jess also had a night out in the hills last night, and a swim, too. They only got back this afternoon and Luke is now busy making the tea. I think I might go back under the tree and read a few more pages...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.